Norway and ESA

The main building of ESOC, ESA's centre for operations control in Darmstadt, Germany. Credit: ESA.

The European Space Agency’s (ESA) mission is to shape the development of Europe’s space capability and ensure that investment in space continues to deliver benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world.

ESA is an international organisation with 20 Member States, of which Norway is one. By coordinating the financial and intellectual resources of its members, it can undertake programmes and activities far beyond the scope of any single European country.

Through its delegates, the Norwegian Space Centre supports and administers Norwegian interests in ESA. This happens specifically through preparations for the ESA decision making processes, preparations which are done in cooperation with the Norwegian space industry and various user environments.